Catbalogan – No Cityhood

The Supreme Court of the Philippines has ruled that the creation of 16 new cities was unconstitutional. Amongst those 16 is Samar Province’s Capitol of Catbalogan. This decision was in response to a petition by the League of Cities of the Philippines, who objected to the “mad rush” to create cities who did not meet the minimum P100 million locally generated income requirement. The leaders in the fight against cityhood were LCP President, Iloilo Mayor Jerry Trenas and Calbayog City Mayor Mel Senen Sarmiento. You can read more on this issue at the GMA News report here:


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: