Central Island Group of the Philippines. To the north of the Visayas lies Luzon, and to the south lies Mindanao. There are many foreigners living in Cebu city, as well as other places in the Visayas.

The Visayas Island Group includes the following 3 Regions & 16* Provinces:

  • Region VI (Western Visayas). Regional Center: Iloilo City.
    Provinces: Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental.*
  • Region VII (Central Visayas). Regional Center: Cebu City.
    Provinces: Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor.
  • Region VIII (Eastern Visayas). Regional Center: Tacloban City.
    Provinces: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Leyte.

*NOTE: Palawan was moved from Region IV-B to Region VI on May 23, 2005, by Executive Order 429. However, there was much criticizm from Palaweños, who did not like the move. On August 19, 2005, Administrative Order No. 129 put a hold on the move, until an implementation plan for orderly transfer could be approved. As a result, there is some confusion on which region Palawan really belongs to. We have included Palawan on our Luzon page, but the map below includes Palawan in Region VI.

Map of Visayas, showing Regions

Map of Visayas, showing Regions

Color Code for Map

Red: Western Visayas (Region VI)
Blue: Central Visayas (Region VII)
Green: Eastern Visayas (Region VIII)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: